Jansen Get First Start for Chiefs Against Spurs
Jansen Get First Start for Chiefs Against Spurs

Posted in News, Team News on May 25, 2024.

Amakhosi will wrap up their DStv Premiership campaign under some pressure this afternoon when they take on Cape Town Spurs in a must-win match staged at the DHL Stadium in Cape Town this afternoon.

Chiefs need to collect the last three points on offer this afternoon as they try and hold on to the 8th spot today so that the teams below do not overtake them on the standings. The team has collected 36 points in 29 matches. The home team have already been relegated, and lie 16th with 20 points.

Chiefs finish the season with a long injury list that includes Pule Mmodi, Keagan Dolly, Edmilson Dove, George Matlou, Reeve Frosler, Dillan Solomons, Tebogo Potsane, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo and Ashley Du Preez.

There are three changes to the team this afternoon. One of the notable ones sees another product of the Kaizer Chiefs Youth Development Academy, Donay Jansen, making his first start for the team. This will be his second game after came on a second-half substitute in the previous match. The young player will replace Zitha Kwinika on the right side of the defence. The second change is in midfield, where Edson Castillo makes way for Sibongiseni Mthethwa, and in attack Mduduzi Mdantsane comes in for the injured Du Preez.

Coach Cavin Johnson has opted for the regular 4-3-3 set-up.

Bruce Bvuma continues in goal this afternoon.

The backline will have S’fiso Hlanti on the left, Thatayaone Ditlhokwe and Given Msimango as centre-backs, and Donay Jansen plays as a right-wingback.

In the middle of the park, Amakhosi have Mthethwa in the defensive midfield role, with Siyethemba Sithebe and Mdantsane in support just in front of him.

The attacking wingers are Christian Saile on the right and Mduduzi Shabalala on the left.

Ranga Chivaviro is the target man.

Msimango is the captain for this last match of the season.

This officiating team is led by referee Tshidio Maruping. He will be assisted by Mervyn van Wyk and Romario Phiri. The match’s fourth official is Msimeleli Mabuto.

The Phefeni Glamour Boys’ last DStv Premiership clash of the season against The Urban Warriors will kick off at 15:00 at the DHL Stadium in Cape Town. The match is live on SuperSport’s Variety Channel 208 on DStv and SABC radio stations - with regular updates of the match on X (Twitter) @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI: Bvuma (44), Jansen (29), Hlanti (23), Ditlhokwe (24), Msimango © (25), Mthethwa (5), Sithebe (6), Mdantsane (3), Shabalala (42), Basomboli Saile (21), Chivaviro (7)

Subs: Khune (32); Kwinika (4), Nj Ngcobo (27), Castillo (17), Maart (8), McCarthy (35), Radebe (33), Vilakazi (28), Duba (36)

Coach: Cavin Johnson

Spurs XI: Boschoff (43), Velebayi (17), Morton (14), Moosa (22), Dortly (24), Cupido (29), Butsaka ©(33), Nkwali (36), Gumede (42), Mokeke (48), Maphathe (50)

Subs: Dlamini (1), Allie (2), Stander (3), Ryan (11), Radiopane (20), Mfecane (31), Braithewaite (38), Jakalashe (41), Maduna (45) 

Coaches: Ernst Middendorp

Share this article: